Workshop Weaver vs SessionLab: which one fits how you prepare a workshop?

A head-to-head comparison of Workshop Weaver and SessionLab for facilitators: agenda creation, method library, facilitation guidance, sharing, export, live delivery and plans, checked against SessionLab's public pages on 2026-09-24 and a hands-on test of Workshop Weaver on 2026-09-11.

Marian Kaufmann··
8 min read
comparison

Quick answer

SessionLab is a mature drag-and-drop agenda planner with a public library of 1000+ activities, team workspaces and, on paid plans, a ChatGPT-based AI Assistant. Workshop Weaver starts the other way round: you write a brief, it drafts a timed agenda from a library of 480+ named facilitation methods, with setup, prompts, timing cues and watch-outs attached to each block, and you edit from there. Pick SessionLab if you build agendas by hand, need parallel tracks, saved versions and real-time co-editing. Pick Workshop Weaver if you start from a brief and want the first draft to arrive with the facilitation guidance already in it.

Key takeaways

  • Both tools generate agendas with AI, but at different points: SessionLab adds a metered AI Assistant on paid plans (0 requests on Free, 50 on Individual, 200 on Pro, 500 on Business and Enterprise per member, pricing page checked 2026-09-24). In Workshop Weaver the AI draft from a brief is the starting point on every tier.
  • SessionLab has, according to its public pages, parallel tracks, saved versions you can restore, real-time co-editing, PowerPoint export and a Time Tracker that adjusts the schedule when a block overruns. None of these were found in Workshop Weaver in the 2026-09-11 test.
  • Workshop Weaver's distinct part is the guidance around each block: setup, prompts for the group, timing cues, watch-outs, scripts and expected outputs, drawn from a library of 480+ methods in English and German. SessionLab's pages describe library activities added to a session; per-block scripts are not stated.
  • Workshop Weaver's Free tier costs EUR 0 and Pro EUR 19 per month billed annually (EUR 23 monthly). SessionLab's Free plan allows 3 session plans, one workspace, no collaboration and no AI requests; paid plan prices are on sessionlab.com/pricing and are not repeated here.
  • Neither tool replaces the facilitator's judgement. Both produce a draft or a structure that someone who knows the group still has to check, and the 2026-09-11 test found open issues in Workshop Weaver's run mode and participant preview that are recorded below.
SessionLab facts from sessionlab.com public pages (homepage, features, AI Assistant, pricing, help center), checked 2026-09-24, no account. Workshop Weaver facts from the product documentation and a hands-on test on 2026-09-11.
FeatureWorkshop WeaverSessionLab
Agenda creation modelAI draft from a written brief; a clarifying question where the brief is thin; then block-by-block editing in PlanManual drag-and-drop blocks with automatic timing; on paid plans an AI Assistant generates blocks from a prompt or from uploaded documents
AI availabilityOn every tier, including FreeMetered per member: 0 requests on Free, 50 on Individual, 200 on Pro, 500 on Business and Enterprise
Method library480+ facilitation methods, English and German, each with a sourcePublic library of 1000+ methods and activities (vendor figure); private library and templates on paid plans
Facilitation guidance per blockSetup, prompts, timing cues, watch-outs, scripts and expected outputsBlocks, groups and notes; instructions come from the library entry. Per-block scripts not stated on the pages checked
Parallel tracks or breakoutsNot available as a native structureParallel tracks (breakout groups within the agenda); not on the Free plan
Versions and undoNo undo found in the 2026-09-11 testVersioning: create and restore saved versions (pricing page)
CollaborationViewer and Co-Facilitator roles; review links with label, password and expiry; public toggle off by defaultReal-time co-editing, collaborators assigned to blocks, comments and tracked changes on Pro and above; no collaboration on Free
Participant-facing viewShare preview and a participant export preset; in the 2026-09-11 test the preview still carried the facilitator's scripts and equipment listVisitor link with commenting and an online overview agenda
ExportPDF and DOCX with audience presets and private-note controlPDF (basic table on Free, presets on paid plans), Word, PowerPoint, copy to clipboard for Miro, Mural or Notion
Live deliveryRun mode with current and next block; no live rescheduling when a block overrunsTime Tracker to track timing during delivery and adjust the schedule if an activity runs over
Briefs and feedbackThe brief is the input to the draft; no built-in feedback formsPages for briefs and needs assessments; Forms for feedback surveys; session delivery reporting
IntegrationsNone listedGoogle Drive, Office 365, Dropbox; MCP access to connect Claude or ChatGPT (plan availability not extracted)
PlansFree EUR 0; Pro EUR 19 per month billed annually, EUR 23 monthly; Enterprise on requestFree, Individual, Pro, Pro Unlimited, Business, Enterprise; per workspace member; prices on sessionlab.com/pricing

How to read this page

We make Workshop Weaver, so read this as a comparison written by one of the two parties. To keep it useful, every SessionLab fact comes from SessionLab's own public pages (homepage, features, AI Assistant, pricing and help center), read without an account on 2026-09-24, and every Workshop Weaver fact comes from the product documentation or from a hands-on test on 2026-09-11 that also recorded our own defects. Where we could not verify something, we say so rather than guess. Prices for SessionLab's paid plans are deliberately not repeated: the figures were not readable in the page source we checked, and a stale price is worse than a link.

What SessionLab is

SessionLab describes itself as "one platform to design and manage facilitation" for solo facilitators, agencies and enterprise training programs. The core is a session planner: "Drag & drop blocks to create your agenda" and "Timing updates automatically as you make changes". Around it sit a public library of "1000+ methods and activities" that can be added to a session with one click, Pages for briefs and needs assessments, Forms for feedback, team workspaces with approved templates, and a facilitation dashboard for tracking session performance.

The AI Assistant is a paid feature layered on that planner. SessionLab's AI page says it can "generate a session based on your prompt", "transform existing materials into agendas" from documents, presentations or raw text, and make "context-aware editing and updates" with workspace-level context such as preferred methodologies. The pricing page calls it "ChatGPT based" and meters it per member: 0 requests on Free, 50 on Individual, 200 on Pro, 500 on Business and Enterprise.

The Free plan is real but narrow. According to the help center it has no time limit, allows 3 session plans, has no collaboration, no multi-day sessions and no breakout tracks, and only the workspace owner can edit. Paid plans add unlimited sessions, breakout tracks, multi-day, the AI Assistant, Word export and a custom logo (Individual), unlimited editors and viewers (Pro), multiple workspaces and SSO (Business), and SCIM, usage analytics and MAU licensing (Enterprise).

What Workshop Weaver is

Workshop Weaver is AI-assisted preparation for professional facilitators. You write a brief. Where the brief is thin, it asks a clarifying question; in the 2026-09-11 test the question about what prevents the team from agreeing was relevant to the outcome. It then produces a structured, timed agenda whose blocks are drawn from a library of 480+ facilitation methods in English and German, each with a source. Every block arrives with setup, prompts for the group, timing cues, watch-outs, a script and expected outputs.

The output is a draft. Editing happens in Plan, where duration changes cascade through the schedule. Run shows the current and the next block during delivery. Share produces review links that can carry a label, a password and an expiry, with Viewer and Co-Facilitator roles and the public toggle off by default, and exports PDF and DOCX with presets for the facilitator and for participants and control over private notes. It is a tool for the week before the room, not a whiteboard and not a delivery platform.

Plans are Free at EUR 0, Pro at EUR 19 per month billed annually or EUR 23 billed monthly, and Enterprise on request. The AI draft is available on Free.

Where SessionLab is stronger

Everything in this section is what SessionLab's public pages state and what the 2026-09-11 test did not find in Workshop Weaver.

Structure for complex agendas. SessionLab lists parallel tracks ("create breakout groups within your agenda") and multi-day sessions on paid plans. Workshop Weaver has no native parallel rooms: in the test, three breakouts had to be described inside a single block.

History. SessionLab lists versioning, "create and restore saved versions of your session". Workshop Weaver had no undo in the test.

Working together in real time. SessionLab's features page says you can "invite your co-facilitators to co-create your agenda in real-time", assign collaborators to specific blocks, leave notes and comments and track changes. Workshop Weaver's collaboration is roles and review links, not simultaneous editing.

Delivery timing. SessionLab's Time Tracker lets you "adjust your schedule if an activity runs over". Workshop Weaver's Run mode shows current and next block and does not reschedule live; the test also found that Run mode's first "Up Next" repeated the current block until the first advance, which is recorded as an open issue.

Around the agenda. Briefs (Pages), feedback (Forms), session delivery reporting, PowerPoint export and Google Drive, Office 365 and Dropbox integrations are all listed by SessionLab. Workshop Weaver has none of these.

Where Workshop Weaver is stronger

This section rests on the product and on the test, and on what SessionLab's pages do not state. Absence from a marketing page is not proof of absence from the product, so treat the second half of each point as "not described", not "does not exist".

The starting point. In Workshop Weaver the AI draft from a brief is the product, available on Free. In SessionLab it is a metered add-on on paid plans, with 0 requests on Free.

What comes with each block. The 2026-09-11 four-app test, which did not include SessionLab, ranked Workshop Weaver strongest for "detailed facilitation guidance in one workspace": setup, prompts, timing cues, watch-outs, scripts and expected outputs per block. SessionLab's pages describe blocks, groups and notes, with instructions coming from the library entry you add; per-block scripts are not mentioned.

Provenance. Each Workshop Weaver method carries a source you can show a client. SessionLab's public pages do not say whether an activity added from the library keeps a source attribution inside the session, and we could not check without an account. The test also found our own gap here: one library method showed as "CUSTOM" in Run and Share, so provenance did not reach the screen a participant would see. That is recorded as an open issue.

The clarifying question. Workshop Weaver asks before it drafts when the brief is thin. SessionLab's AI page describes generation from a prompt or from documents; a clarifying step is not described.

What the test found wrong with Workshop Weaver

The comparison would not be honest without this list. On 2026-09-11, one identical 90-minute team-alignment brief (12 participants, two facilitators, six fixed blocks, three parallel breakouts) was run through Workshop Weaver and three other tools. Workshop Weaver met all six requested durations. It also showed seven issues, four of which matter for this comparison: Run mode's initial "Up Next" repeated the current block; "Use in Workshop" from a method page landed on a generic brief without visibly keeping the selection; the participant preview reused the facilitator's scripts and a bring-list with projector and flip chart; and a known method was labelled CUSTOM in Run and Share. These are tracked and being worked on. SessionLab was not part of that test, so we have no equivalent list for it.

Who should pick which

Pick SessionLab if you build agendas by hand and want a mature planner around that habit: parallel tracks, multi-day, restorable versions, real-time co-editing with a team, PowerPoint export, and briefs and feedback forms in the same workspace. The Free plan is enough to try the planner, not to collaborate or to use AI.

Pick Workshop Weaver if you start from a written brief and want the first draft to arrive grounded in named methods with the facilitation notes already attached, and you expect to edit rather than accept. The Free tier includes the draft. Do not pick it if your agendas routinely need parallel tracks or if simultaneous co-editing is essential to how you work.

Consider both if you are a team: SessionLab for the shared planning workspace, Workshop Weaver for the method-grounded first draft, exported as DOCX and pasted in. That is a workaround, not an integration; neither tool lists the other.

For the wider field, our SessionLab alternatives page compares four tools by job, and the workshop planning tools comparison looks at SessionLab, Miro, Mural, Butter and Workshop Weaver across planning, running and follow-up.

Method and limits

SessionLab facts: sessionlab.com homepage, features, AI Assistant and pricing pages plus the help-center plan articles, read on 2026-09-24 without an account. Plan-by-plan availability of the Time Tracker, versioning, MCP access and PowerPoint export is shown as check marks on the pricing page that our text extraction did not capture, so those features are listed without a plan. No SessionLab agenda was generated and no export was opened. Workshop Weaver facts: product documentation and the hands-on test of 2026-09-11 (one sample, one generation, no benchmark). If a SessionLab statement here is out of date, the vendor's pages take precedence; tell us and we will correct the page and the date.

Frequently Asked Questions

Ready to plan your next workshop?

7 days free. No credit card. No setup fees. Cancel anytime.