SessionLab alternatives: 4 workshop planners compared

Workshop Weaver, Agendaflow, METODIC and Sessionplan compared with SessionLab: what each tool does, what it costs and which job it fits.

Marian Kaufmann6 min read

Quick answer

SessionLab is a mature manual agenda planner; its AI is limited to paid plans. Which alternative fits depends on the job: Workshop Weaver drafts an agenda from a brief with facilitation notes for every block, Agendaflow handles complex agendas with parallel rooms, METODIC produces the full materials pack, and Sessionplan is a free manual planner that needs no account.

Key takeaways

  • Only Sessionplan is completely free: no account, no subscription. Workshop Weaver, METODIC and SessionLab have limited free tiers, and only SessionLab's comes without AI.
  • Workshop Weaver, Agendaflow and METODIC draft an agenda from a brief. In our hands-on test all three met the requested block durations; they differed in editing, sharing and export.
  • Agendaflow, Sessionplan and SessionLab (on paid plans) support parallel breakout rooms as a structure. Workshop Weaver does not.

The alternatives at a glance

Workshop Weaver

Best for

A method-grounded draft with facilitation notes for every block, starting from a written brief.

Price

Free at EUR 0; Pro EUR 19/month billed annually, EUR 23 monthly

Read the section

Agendaflow

Best for

Long, multi-day or multi-room agendas where AI edits should arrive as reviewable proposals.

Price

Solo from EUR 9/month, Team from EUR 15 per seat; 30-day trial, no card

Read the section

METODIC

Best for

The full pack: agenda, worksheets, slides, facilitator guide and workbook.

Price

Free with 15 credits plus 5 per month; paid from EUR 10/month

Read the section

Sessionplan

Best for

A fast, private schedule with no account, with your own AI or none.

Price

Free, donation-funded

Read the section

Feature comparison

FeatureSessionLabWorkshop WeaverAgendaflowMETODICSessionplan
AI draft from a brief
Paid plans only
Yes, including Free
Yes, with clarifying questions
Yes, 2 credits per agenda
No; bring your own AI
Parallel rooms
Parallel tracks (paid)
No
Yes, also created by the AI
Not stated
Yes, built by hand
Method library
1000+ activities
750+ methods, EN and DE
Own, growing exercise library
768 methods and activities
Templates without method sources
Facilitation notes per block
Notes; instructions from the library
Setup, prompts, script, outcome
Notes and owners
Facilitator guide
Notes and materials
Collaboration
Real-time co-editing from Pro
Review links with comments
Review link with comments, teams
Not stated
Read-only and editor links
Export
PDF, Word, PowerPoint
PDF and DOCX per audience
PPTX, DOCX, PDF
Slides, workbook, guide
Print PDF and JSON
During the workshop
Time Tracker adjusts on overrun
Run mode, no rescheduling
Not stated
Live view with timer
Countdown with +5 min
Free to use
3 sessions, no AI
1 AI draft every 30 days
30-day trial only
15 credits plus 5 per month
Fully, no account
German
German interface
Interface, library, agendas
One of seven languages
Sessions yes, interface no
German first
YesPartlyNoNot stated

From the vendors' public pages as of 2026-10-17, and from one hands-on test with an identical brief on 2026-09-11 (SessionLab was not part of the test). Library sizes are vendor figures.

What SessionLab does well, and where it gets tight

SessionLab is a drag-and-drop agenda planner: you drag blocks into an agenda, and timings recalculate with every change. Around that sit a public library of 1000+ methods and activities, team workspaces, parallel tracks, versioning and a Time Tracker for delivery. For solo facilitators, agencies and training teams it is a mature tool.

It gets tight in two places. The first is AI: the Assistant generates agendas from a prompt. It is metered per member per month, with 0 requests on Free, 50 on Individual, 200 on Pro and 500 on Business and Enterprise. The second is the Free plan: at most 3 sessions, no collaboration, no multi-day sessions, no breakout tracks. Billed annually, paid plans cost EUR 9 a month (Individual), EUR 15 per member (Pro) or EUR 23 per member (Business). Billed monthly they are 14, 23 or 35, excluding VAT (pricing page, as of 2026-10-17).

So most people looking for an alternative want one of two things: more AI help with the draft, or a tool that works without a subscription. The four tools below cover both, each with a different focus.

Workshop Weaver

Workshop Weaver is AI-assisted workshop preparation for professional facilitators. You write a brief, it asks a clarifying question where needed, and then drafts a timed agenda from a library of 750+ facilitation methods in English and German. The agenda itself can be generated in any language.

Strong at: what comes with each block. In our hands-on test, Workshop Weaver's agenda had the most detailed guidance: setup, prompts for the group, timing cues, watch-outs, a script and the expected outcome. Every block is a named method with a source. Through review links with password and expiry, clients comment directly on a block without an account; export is PDF and DOCX, with separate versions for facilitators and participants. Saved versions keep earlier drafts.

Limits: no parallel rooms as a structure, no real-time co-editing, and no live rescheduling when a block overruns during delivery. The Free plan includes one AI draft every 30 days; review links start on Pro.

Fits: facilitators who start from a written brief, want a draft built on named methods and expect to edit it themselves. Not a fit if your agendas routinely need parallel tracks.

Agendaflow

Agendaflow is an AI planner from Norway: brief, clarifying questions, then a timed agenda (multi-day if needed) that you edit and share. It ships a growing exercise library, and the interface and agendas come in seven languages, German among them.

Strong at: complex agendas. In our test it was the only tool whose AI turned "three parallel breakouts" into one block with three named rooms. AI edits arrive as proposals with a rationale that you accept or discard, and the assistant points out gaps unprompted, such as a missing break or blocks without an outcome. Sharing uses a review link that clients can comment through, plus a separate participant link. Export is PowerPoint, Word or PDF.

Limits: after a duration change, locked start times had to be pushed back explicitly in our test. There is no free tier, only a 30-day trial without a card, and AI actions are capped per plan (100 a month on Solo).

Fits: facilitators with long, multi-day or multi-room agendas who prefer to review AI edits rather than accept them wholesale.

METODIC

METODIC, from Amsterdam, turns a brief into a timed agenda and then into the materials around it: worksheets, slides with speaker notes, a facilitator guide and a participant workbook. For delivery there is a live view with a timer.

Strong at: the full delivery pack. The Materials area keeps preparation documents apart from what participants receive, and every block shows whether it came from the library or was newly generated by the AI. According to the vendor, the library holds 768 methods and activities and 773 templates.

Limits: pricing runs on credits. An agenda costs 2, materials add more depending on scope, and that makes costs harder to predict. The interface is not available in German, although sessions can be run in German.

Fits: anyone who needs slides, a workbook and a facilitator guide alongside the agenda, especially if running workshops is not their main job.

Sessionplan

Sessionplan is a free, account-less timeline planner from a single developer in Berlin, open source and funded by donations. Data stays in your browser by default. The interface is German first, with English as the second language.

Strong at: a clean manual schedule with little ceremony. Blocks, groups, parallel breakouts and automatic downstream timing work reliably, and live mode has a countdown where "+5 min" shifts everything after it. There is no built-in AI; if you want it, you connect your own model through an import schema or an MCP server.

Limits: export is print PDF or JSON only, not PowerPoint or Word, and there is no participant view: live mode runs on your screen. A block is only a title, a duration, notes and materials, with no method provenance and no split between facilitator notes and what participants see.

Fits: anyone who wants a fast, private schedule and brings their own AI or needs none. If that is enough, you do not need a paid tool.

How to choose

Four questions sort most cases:

  1. Where does your agenda start? From a written brief you want a first draft for: Workshop Weaver, Agendaflow or METODIC. In your own head: Sessionplan or SessionLab.
  2. Do you need parallel rooms? Then Agendaflow, Sessionplan or SessionLab's paid plans.
  3. What has to leave the tool? A participant handout and a facilitator version: Workshop Weaver or Agendaflow. Slides, workbook and facilitator guide: METODIC. A link is enough: Sessionplan.
  4. What should the AI do? Named methods and per-block facilitation notes: Workshop Weaver. Reviewable edits and a critique of the plan: Agendaflow. Generate materials: METODIC. Nothing: Sessionplan.

For the head-to-head, see Workshop Weaver vs SessionLab. The workshop planning tools comparison adds Miro and Mural, and the workshop planning guide covers the steps before and after the tool.

How we compared

Facts about all five tools come from the vendors' public pages as of 2026-10-17. In addition, on 2026-09-11 one identical brief ran through Workshop Weaver, Agendaflow, METODIC and Sessionplan: a 90-minute team-alignment workshop with 12 participants, two facilitators, six fixed blocks and three parallel breakouts. That is one sample, not a benchmark, and SessionLab was not part of it. Workshop Weaver is our own product, so its limits are stated as plainly as everyone else's. If a statement is out of date, the vendor's pages take precedence, and we will correct the page and its date.

Frequently Asked Questions

Ready to plan your next workshop?

7 days free. No credit card. No setup fees. Cancel anytime.